How many People use Twitter’s official apps?

How many People use Twitter’s official apps?

Benjaming mayo has done an interesting analysis of the usage of Twitter apps with a million tweets as input. 6 out of the top 7 clients are official. Another thing to note is that 77% of people use official apps. On Twitter’s decision to ban third-party clients he says,

For people that think Twitter will never ban third-party clients because there would be too much backlash, I think this 77% figure shows that Twitter could do it with ease. A large portion of the 23% would be happily herded to a first-party client, as they don’t really care what app they use — it just turned out that the client they first downloaded wasn’t a Twitter-owned app. The only people who would care would be the geeks, like me and anyone else who could be bothered to read this post, who actually care about the client they are using. And let’s face it, Twitter doesn’t care about geeks.

This kinda worries me and I dread to think of the day when I won’t be able to use my favorite apps like Tweetbot on iOS and Echofon on windows. Twitter really doesn’t care about geeks.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment